SEGROcalc

SEGROcalc is a software tool which enables the calculation of segregation at grain boundaries in metals.

Segregation of solute elements to grain boundaries is a key factor for the production and the performance of many technologically relevant materials. It influences fundamental material properties such as formability, crack propagation, grain growth, precipitation, diffusivity or electric conductivity. By controlling the segregation state, a lever for developing materials of superior properties can be obtained. 

The software tool SEGROcalc aids the materials developer to inspect and predict the segregation state for a wide range of materials. SEGROcalc determines the concentration of solute elements at the GB, i.e. the local GB chemistry as a function of temperature. Furthermore, it also calculates the mechanical strengthening of GBs.  The central quantity, the segregation energy, is provided by a database which contains experimental data, results from phenomenological models and also highly precise data based on density functional theory (DFT). SEGROcalc allows you to compare and analyze the different sources and get the most complete overview of the current state of knowledge of segregation in a material.

SEGROcalc is developed at MCL and the software with the underlying database will be continuously extended and improved. The current entries in the database for DFT data are shown HERE. If your are interested to try SEGROcalc1.0 please get in contact with us (lorenz.romaner(at)mcl.at).

Presentation

Request for Download-Link

Software
You will be sent the download link to the specified email address.
Please enter the result of the displayed calculation task in the field "Security question".
captcha

SEGROcalc

SEGROcalc ist ein Software-Tool zur Berechnung von Segregation an Korngrenzen in Metallen.

Ein wesentlicher Faktor für die Herstellung und Eigenschaften von vielen technisch relevanten Werkstoffen ist eine genaue Kenntnis des Segregationszustandes der Korngrenzen. Grundlegende Werkstoffeigenschaften wie Umformbarkeit, Rissfortschritt, Kornwachstum, Ausscheidungen, Diffusion oder elektrische Leitfähigkeit sind maßgeblich davon betroffen. Ein kontrolliertes Einstellen des Segregationszustandes und daher der Korngrenzenchemie ermöglicht es, die Eigenschaften vieler Werkstoffen entscheidend zu verbessern.

Die Software SEGROcalc ist ein Werkzeug zur Abschätzung und Vorhersage des Korngrenzensegregationszustandes von einer Vielzahl von Werkstoffen. SEGROcalc ermittelt die Konzentration der Legierungselemente an der Korngrenze, d. h. die lokale Korngrenzenchemie, als Funktion der Temperatur. Weiters kann die mechanische Verstärkung der Korngrenze berechnet werden. Die zentrale Größe, die Segregationsenergie, wird über eine Datenbank bezogen, wobei Werte aus Experimenten, phänomenologischen Modellen oder der hochpräzisen Dichtefunktionaltheorie (DFT) zur Verfügung stehen. SEGROcalc erlaubt es die verschiedenen Bezugsquellen zu vergleichen, sodass ein umfassender Überblick über den gegenwärtigen Wissensstand zur Korngrenzensegregation gewonnen werden kann.

SEGROcalc wird am MCL entwickelt und sowohl das Programm als auch die Datenbank werden kontinuierlich verbessert, um die Vorhersagekraft zu steigern. Der gegenwärtige Stand der Databank in Bezug auf DFT Daten ist HIER ersichtlich. Falls Interesse besteht, SEGROcalc1.0 zu testen, nehmen Sie bitte mit uns Kontakt auf (lorenz.romaner(at)mcl.at). 

Downloadlink anfordern

Software
Sie erhalten den Downloadlink an die angegebene Emailadresse geschickt.
Bitte tragen Sie das Ergebnis der dargestellten Rechenaufgabe in das Feld Sicherheitsabfrage ein.
captcha