The COMET-K2-Center IC-MPPE

Integrated computational materials, processes and products


The Materials Center Leoben (MCL) is the coordinator of one of five currently running Austrian COMET K2 competence Centers. The research program IC-MPPE focuses on integrated computational development of materials, processing processes and products. Activities include the use of sophisticated computer models and algorithms to digitize and virtualize design, processes, and product applications.

 

Aims of the Programme
The COMET Center IC-MPPE aims to rigorously integrate theoretical foundations, the latest validated calculation methods and key technologies to support material-based innovation. Furthermore, the COMET Center IC-MPPE focuses on simultaneous material, process and product development, cost efficiency, quality, material and energy savings as well as the digitization of production chains.

 

The COMET research programme at a glance
The starting shot was fired for the competence centre as early as 1999. The first projects were planned and implemented as part of the Kplus research programme. After the end of the funding period, an application was submitted and approved in the COMET area.


Phase I of the COMET research programme covered the period from 2008 to 2012, with a project volume of approximately € 50 million. Following an evaluation phase in 2012, MCL was equipped for Phase II with a further project volume of almost € 60 million by the end of 2017.


For COMET Phase II (2013 to 2017), the scientific objectives within the areas were updated or redefined. In order to be able to penetrate the entire value chain from the production of materials and components to their behaviour in use, both scientifically and technologically, multidisciplinary research projects were carried out in the following seven research areas:
Area 1: Virtual Integration of Material, Process and Product Engineering
- Area 2: Multi-scale material design
- Area 3: Advanced manufacturing processes
- Area 4: Damage - Mechanisms, Development and Modelling
- Area 5: Tool technology
- Area 6: Intelligent concepts for structural components
- Area 7: Design and reliability of functional components

 

Phase III of the research programme has a duration of four years (2018 to 2021). During this period, projects with a volume of € 43.6 million will be carried out. The structure of the individual areas has also been adapted and redefined:
- Area 1: Fundamentals for Integrated Computational Engineering of Materials, Processes and Products
- Area 2: Material Engineering
- Area 3: Process Engineering
- Area 4: Product Engineering

Find information about our partners here.

COMET-K2-Center IC-MPPE

Integrierte Werkstoff-, Prozess- und Produktentwicklung

 

Das Materials Center Leoben (MCL) betreibt eines von fünf österreichischen COMET K2-Kompetenzzentren. Das MCL konzertiert sich mit seinen Partnern aus Wissenschaft und Industrie im Forschungsprogramm IC-MPPE auf die integrierte rechnerische Entwicklung von Materialien, Verarbeitungsprozessen und Produkten. Zu den Aktivitäten zählen der Einsatz ausgefeilter Computermodelle und Algorithmen zur Digitalisierung und Virtualisierung von Design, Prozessen und Produktanwendungen.

 

Die Ziele des Forschungsprogrammes:  

Das COMET Center IC-MPPE zielt darauf ab, theoretische Grundlagen, die neuesten validierten Berechnungsmethoden und Schlüsseltechnologien zu integrieren, um materialbasierte Innovationen zu unterstützen. Darüber hinaus konzentriert sich das COMET Center IC-MPPE auf die gleichzeitige Material-, Prozess- und Produktentwicklung, Kosteneffizienz, Qualität, Material- und Energieeinsparung sowie die Digitalisierung von Produktionsketten.

 

Das Forschungsprogramm COMET im Überblick: 

Bereits 1999 ist der Startschuss für das Kompetenzzentrums gefallen. Im Rahmen des Kplus Forschungsprogrammes wurden erste Projekte geplant und realisiert. Nach Ablauf der Förderperiode wurde ein Antrag im Bereich COMET gestellt und bewilligt.

 

Die Phase I des Forschungsprogramms COMET erstreckte sich über den Zeitraum von 2008 bis 2012, wobei ein Projektvolumen von ca. € 50 Mio. umgesetzt wurde. Nach einer Evaluierungsphase im Jahr 2012 wurde das MCL für die Phase II mit einem Projektvolumen von weiteren knapp € 60 Mio. bis Ende 2017 ausgestattet.

 

Für die COMET Phase II (2013 bis 2017) wurden die wissenschaftlichen Zielsetzungen innerhalb der Areas aktualisiert bzw. neu definiert. Um die gesamte Wertschöpfungskette von der Herstellung von Materialien und Bauteilen bis zu deren Verhalten im Einsatz sowohl wissenschaftlich als auch technologisch durchdringen zu können, wurden multidisziplinäre Forschungsprojekte in den folgenden sieben Forschungsschwerpunkten durchgeführt:

  • Area 1: Virtuelle Integration von Material-, Prozess- und Produktengineering

  • Area 2: Multiskaliges Materialdesign

  • Area 3: Fortschrittliche Fertigungsprozesse

  • Area 4: Schädigung – Mechanismen, Entwicklung und Modellierung

  • Area 5: Werkzeugtechnik

  • Area 6: Intelligente Konzepte für Strukturbauteile

  • Area 7: Design und Zuverlässigkeit funktionaler Bauteile

 

Die Phase III des Forschungsprogrammes hat eine Laufzeit von vier Jahren (2018 bis 2021). In diesem Zeitraum werden Projekte mit einem Volumen von 43,6 Mio € durchgeführt. Ebenso wurde die Struktur der einzelnen Areas angepasst und neu definiert:

  • Area 1: Fundamentals for Integrated Computational Engineering of Materials, Processes and Products

  • Area 2: Material Engineering

  • Area 3: Process Engineering

  • Area 4: Product Engineering

 

HIER finden Sie Informationen über unsere Partner im COMET-Programm.