Executive Bodies

Supervisory Board

The Supervisory Board performs the duties defined by the Austrian companies act (GmbHG) and is responsible for the medium- and long-term strategy.


  • Univ.-Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Dr.mont. Helmut Antrekowitsch, Vorsitzender
  • DI Dr.-Ing. Kurt Leopold Satzinger, Stellvertr. Vorsitzender
  • Dr. Knut Consemüller
  • Univ. Prof. Dr. Jürgen Eckert
  • DI Dr. Wilfried Enzenhofer MBA
  • Mag. Katharina Kocher-Lichem
  • DI Dr. Heinz Mayer
  • Prof. Dr. Christof Sommitsch
  • Dr. Christian T. Wolf
  • Ministerialrat Heribert Wulz

ISAB - International Scientific Advisory Board

The ISAB is an international board that supports the MCL in its scientific progress. Within the ISAB, representatives from science and industry are meeting once a year.


  • Prof. Eduard Arzt, University of Saarland, INM Leibnitz Institut für neue Materialien GmbH, Germany
  • Prof. Michael Basista, KMM-VIN and Head of Advanced Composite Materials Group, Inst. of Fundamental Technology Research, Polish Academy of Sciences, Warsaw, Poland
  • Prof. Wolfgang Bleck, RWTH Aachen, Dept. of Ferrous Metallurgy, Germany
  • Prof. Franc Cus, Univeristy of Maribor, Slovenia
  • Prof. Wilfried Eichlseder, Montanuniversität Leoben, Austria
  • Prof. Peter Fratzl, Max Plank Institute of Colloids and Interfaces, Dept.of Biomaterials, Potsdam, Germany
  • Prof. Fritz Klocke, Fraunhofer Institut für Produktionstechnologie und RWTH Aachen, Germany
  • Prof. Herbert Mang, Technical University Vienna, Austria Academy of Sciences, Vienna, Austria
  • Prof. Andreas Mortensen, EPFL Lausanne, Laboratory for Mechanical Metallurgy, Lausanne, Switzerland
  • DI Reinhard Petschacher, Formerly Infineon, Villach, Austria
  • Prof. Anke, Kaysser-Pyzalla, Helmholtz Zentrum Berlin, Germany


COMET-K2-Programme Commitee

The COMET K2 Programme Committee has an advisory status and gives recommendations on new COMET-K2 projects and the research programme. The board and the programme committee reflect the cooperative character of the MCL in that they are made up of equal numbers of industrial partners and research institutes.


  • DI Dr. Walter Berger, voestalpine Wire Rod Austria GmbH
  • Priv.Doz. Dr. Megan J. Cordill, Österr. Akademie der Wissenschaften
  • Dr. Christoph Czettl, CERATIZIT Austria GmbH
  • Prof. Dr. Norbert Enzinger, TU Graz
  • Dipl. -Ing. Josef Fugger, Infineon Technologies AG
  • Univ. Prof. Dr. Florian Grün, Montanuniversität Leoben
  • Univ. Prof. Dr. Ernst Kozeschnik, TU Wien
  • DI Dr. Jürgen Lackner, Joanneum Research Forschungsgesellschaft mbH
  • Dr. Harald Leitner, voestalpine Böhler Edelstahl GmbH & Co KG
  • Dr. Günther Maier, AT&S AG
  • Univ.-Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Dr.mont. Stefan Pogatscher
  • Univ. Prof. Dr. Lorenz Romaner, Montanuniversität Leoben
  • Dipl.-Ing. Christian Walch, voestalpine Stahl GmbH
  • Dipl.-Ing. PhD. Franz-Josef Weber, Siemens Mobility Austria GmbH